Go Back   The Construct Forums > Gaming > The Construct
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
1 - 04-19-2009, 11:13 AM quote
Mezalyth
Hybrid Volt
 
Mezalyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Desert
Posts: 796
Offline
Thumbs up SI (Structural Infinity) Help/Info

About every day that I've been on T2 and building, many people often have problems with SI...or THINK they have problems. For those of you still new to Structural Infinity, here's the basic gist of what it is, how you get it, and what you're supposed to do with it.

What It Is
SI is a script that virtually eliminates the visual limit when constructing. Originally, only 1024 objects (not pieces...objects include vehicles, players, etc.) could be rendered. With SI, up to 20,000 objects can exist before encountering any real problems. (1-degree walkway spheres pass up 20k objects, so please don't even attempt them. You'll end up working at less than 1fps, and then lagging out before you even come close to completion).

How It Works
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krash
Since the objects are all indexed, if you have over the visible limit of objects loaded, it will only load the actual clientside version of the deployable in that range. Once a deployable in that range is removed, it will use the available object on the next item in the index, and so on, and so on. What you'll see when it is outside of that range is[...]a completely virtual object made on the client end to match up with the position, rotation, and scale of a serverside object... only without animation, targets, and etc.


How You Get It
http://www.the-construct.net/forums...hread.php?t=436
Follow the instruction. Also, when you download it, you need to actually open up the Installer...you can't just place it in Autoexec. You put the program in there, but not the Installer...easy enough, right? ...Hopefully.

What To Do
Celebrate! You now have the ability to see much more than originally thought possible. Also, because you installed SI correctly, you seem just a bit smarter. So build on, don't hesitate to load buildings, and don't freak out if the piece-count climbs towards quadruple-digits. S'all good!

KNOWN ISSUES
We're already aware of these...I'm just making sure YOU are. So you're not as surprised as most people when the V-Pad suddenly disappears!

-Often when joining a server, you might notice the little "Slack Space Error" message. Do not freak out. Slack space is used to render players and vehicles. It's not polished out yet, but be assured, it'll work eventually.

-When over the usual Vis-Limit, some vehicles and players will be invisible to you. This is a Slack Space issue...there aren't any ghosts, and no one is hacking. If you run into an invisible player, you might get jostled or blocked, but it's nothing to worry about. Sometimes you can be seen, but you can't see others. It happens.

-Very rarely, some pieces won't appear. You'll be walking and suddenly stop (Hammer Time!), blocked by an invisible force. If it never moves and is bigger than a player/vehicle, it's a piece. Go observer...turn away...ctrl-k...sometimes it will reappear, sometimes it won't.

-Cloaking...after pieces go above the normal limit, cloaking won't be displayed. You can still /cloak a piece, but you won't see a change, so it's best to wait for the pieces to die down before you use /cloak. If you're impatient, then go ahead and /cloak what you want, but if you're forgetful, you won't be sure whether or not the targeted piece is already invisible. Like I said, it's best to wait.

-Targeting Lasers won't appear after passing the normal limit. It's a slack-space thing. Not that significant.

-When respawning/joining a server, it may take a while for your player to actually appear on the map. Just be patient, you'll get there eventually.

-Switches may lose the icons on the panels. Also, when activated, it may not show the "ON" rotation, and you won't hear the Solar Panel being powered up/down. The frequencies are still being flipped, but you won't see any animation. Also, switches that should be accessible by everyone sometimes act like Owner-Only switches (In Metallic).

-Projectiles will become invisible once pieces go over the usual limit. Bullets, lasers, etc. Even thrown Packs or Weapons will not be seen.

-As pointed out by phoenix2008, emitters will cease to function once we pass normal limits.

-Animation for generators or solar panels will not be visible. Rest assured, even if the lights are dark and you hear nothing, everything is fully functioning..

-When merging, some pieces may "flash" and others will not. This is part of the cloaking issue. If an object was set down before we hit visual limit, everything will animate/cloak/flash/etc. If it's not, it won't, but it will still merge. If you're having trouble figuring out if a piece is fully merged, Isometrically Rotate it and see if the whole target piece changes. If not, merge it together.

...

Still taking suggestions! Have a problem? Post it here!


Last edited by Mezalyth : 08-20-2010 at 10:40 AM. Reason: Just adding stuff.
 
2 - 04-19-2009, 12:23 PM quote
Numbuh 178
Senior Member
Divine Order of the Hammer
 
Numbuh 178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 979
Offline

This should be stickied :P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thalagyrt
people suck
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deflun (to SnowFire789)
Hey look its Captain Irunatzombiesandlivewhileyoualldie
 
3 - 04-19-2009, 01:48 PM quote
Naosyth
AKA Avenger777
Divine Order of the Hammer
 
Naosyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 551
Offline

Also, you need to have an updated copy of TribesNext (RC2 or higher.) Just download the TN installer again, and run it.



 
4 - 04-19-2009, 03:17 PM quote
Phantom139
PGD Founder
 
Phantom139's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 1,075
Offline

That should get some of the SI issues we've been having lately solved.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alviss
I would even bare you five children each of a different ethnicity and all named Phantom.


My TWM2 Stats
 
5 - 04-20-2009, 07:54 PM quote
Mezalyth
Hybrid Volt
 
Mezalyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Desert
Posts: 796
Offline

Only 3 views...it's SI assistance, and 3 views?

Wow people, do you want to learn?

 
6 - 04-20-2009, 07:58 PM quote
Flazor
is posting
 
Flazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Philippines
Posts: 139
Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mezalyth
Only 3 views...it's SI assistance, and 3 views?

Wow people, do you want to learn?

I wanna learn needs to be stickied :|
 
7 - 04-21-2009, 01:16 PM quote
Krash
Neptune Sleeps
 
Krash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,356
Offline

Stuck.

For about half a second the thread ID in the address bar looked to be 1024, which I was going to say was particularly fitting for the thread, but then I realized it was in fact 1204. On the other hand, I suppose the actual 1024 thread isn't so bad in its own right.

 
8 - 04-21-2009, 04:48 PM quote
Mezalyth
Hybrid Volt
 
Mezalyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Desert
Posts: 796
Offline

Maybe we could convince people they're dyslexic.

 
9 - 04-24-2009, 12:43 PM quote
Numbuh 178
Senior Member
Divine Order of the Hammer
 
Numbuh 178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 979
Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krash
Stuck.

For about half a second the thread ID in the address bar looked to be 1024, which I was going to say was particularly fitting for the thread, but then I realized it was in fact 1204. On the other hand, I suppose the actual 1024 thread isn't so bad in its own right.

Thread 1024 is annoying and pointless :P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thalagyrt
people suck
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deflun (to SnowFire789)
Hey look its Captain Irunatzombiesandlivewhileyoualldie
 
10 - 04-24-2009, 02:57 PM quote
Zaxxman
Clueless Noob
Divine Order of the Hammer
 
Zaxxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Less colder north
Posts: 2,965
Offline

Lets try and tell people that through a ringtone or a rap as most people enjoy today.


Revenge Is A Dish Best Served Cold...
...
And Screaming
 
11 - 04-28-2009, 10:51 AM quote
Mezalyth
Hybrid Volt
 
Mezalyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Desert
Posts: 796
Offline

If anyone has any problems other than those listed on this thread, please bring them to my attention. I'll try to post solutions (or say that I have no clue) to any issues you may have.

 
12 - 06-18-2009, 11:36 PM quote
phoenix2008
Oglette
 
phoenix2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
Offline

this is great mez. only think i can think of is emitters won't work over viz limit with Slack Space issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spin1441
Ok guys funs over move along Phantom's arrived :P


ergo46 joined the game.
ergo46 joined Storm.
ergo46: hi
ergo46: could I be a SA
ergo46 has left the game.
Deflun: the fuck?

(taken from Deflun's sig)
 
13 - 07-26-2009, 01:52 PM quote
EdgeIcon
Nugget
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Offline

Hello,
I have been wrestling with SI and tribes all night.. and it really doesn't help having limited knowledge on what I am doing.

Consider me the designer.. not the technician :P

I am working on a 3D maze for my friends and myself to enjoy at LANs and I rudely came across the 1024 object limit...

I have Tribes 2 installed
I have the "Next" patch
I have constructor installed
and I downloaded the recent version of SI and double clicked it to run the installer.. and it worked..

I have loaded into tribes and gotten the SI interface message that says the slack space limit failed. ( haven't seen that message in awhile)
However, when I load the building, it still stops at 1024 and the rest is invisible.. ( i can run into it, but the objects are invisible and I cannot see where I am placing objects when I try to continue working..)

Thus, I have questions as to what went wrong.. Should I blame Vista? Was I not supposed to save my 3D object as a .cs by typing || savebuilding(clientid,radius,"filename.cs"); ||

any help would be greatly appreciated..


I also tried Linker's tribes2_server thing. but when i hosted a server in Construction offline or online, it would tell me it was going to close tribes2 to run tribes2_server.
I let it but it went through updating the SI file ( after a bunch of other updates and the occasional error for banlists and some pillar graphics..)

Please help me out
I am totally confused now... and slightly sleep deprived from reading all through the forums ( only understanding 75% of it) and trying stuff out myself..

Thank you

Last edited by EdgeIcon : 07-26-2009 at 01:57 PM.
 
14 - 07-26-2009, 02:30 PM quote
Naosyth
AKA Avenger777
Divine Order of the Hammer
 
Naosyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 551
Offline

Well, you wont need linker's executables to use SI. The TN patch works for SI.

You should make sure your copy of TN is up to date, since older versions don't support SI. RC2 or newer should work.

Also, are you hosting dedicated or non-dedicated when you build? Non-dedicated servers cant use SI, so that could the the problem, though it would usually UE before you spawn.

If none of that helps you, I could come to your server and help you troubleshoot it.



 
15 - 07-26-2009, 03:00 PM quote
Zipperdude
The Doctor
 
Zipperdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: West Coast, Canada
Posts: 765
Offline

"In game Help Box"

Would that Work? like a Little "HELP" Tab, With Veh. Help and Gun Help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by darkavenger_35
one of us should use their mechanical knowledge to make an MPB in real life, then we can drive around and scoff at the other MPB-less gentlemen whilst donning our helmets and sporting glorious armor
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Structrual Infinity Thyth Construction Creations 82 06-22-2013 10:02 AM
Structural Infinity Blnukem General Discussion 2 05-05-2009 12:57 PM
Cannot get Structural Infinity to fully function. Ceskelmag Construction Help 1 07-19-2008 09:57 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 PM.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.