Go Back   The Construct Forums > Gaming > The Construct > Construction Help
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
1 - 07-14-2007, 01:53 PM quote
ShrimpFromHell
Me is teh Shrimpeh!
 
ShrimpFromHell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 241
Offline
Default Construction packs/weapons not present: a fix

If all other solutions fail, this is (to my experience) a guaranteed fix:

(This will seem like a rather complicated fix at first sight, but when you start with it, it really is quite simple, just follow the steps!)




Using Tricon2:

Step 1: download, and extract the following packages into dynamix/tribes2/gamedata/base:
http://tricon.rosenberry.net/files/Tricon2Server.zip
http://tricon.rosenberry.net/files/...erExpansion.zip
http://tricon.rosenberry.net/files/Tricon2CrapPack.zip
Visit http://tricon.rosenberry.net/t2download.html for more information on Tricon2, but you will need no more than the 3 files above!

Step 2: run Tribes 2 with the Construction Online Server shortcut;

Step 3: start your server;

Step 4: when the mission is done loading, press escape;

Step 5:
scroll through the menu of admin options and commands and click the option "Prebuild / compile DSO's" (or something like that) and confirm your choice. (this admin option comes with Tricon2)

Step 6: after step 5, the game will hang for a few seconds, followed by a 20 seconds countdown. It will say that the server will restart after the countdown, but actually it will shut down the game;

Step7: run Tribes 2 again with the construction shortcut and start your server, purebuild/construction packs & weapons should be available.
IMPORTANT: If you get an unhandled exception, it means that your Tribes2 has too many custom scripts to run a working Construction mod AND Tricon2 at the same time!
You will need to remove Tricon2 by using your Windows' standard filesearch tool to search your entire Tribes2 folder for Tricon2 files (mostlikely, you will have to enter "tricon" as search string). When the searching is done, delete all of the files that were found.

Now run your server again, there should be no unhandled exception and your construction packs and weapons will (or at least, should) be there.


This solution also works for the same problem in other mods.

Last edited by ShrimpFromHell : 07-15-2007 at 04:22 AM.
 
2 - 07-14-2007, 02:58 PM quote
Eehk
Not Eolk
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monroe, WA
Posts: 474
Offline

I just delete dsos upon starting the mod using the advanced launcher and my packs and weapons are always there. :shrug:

 
3 - 07-14-2007, 10:06 PM quote
-|Master Chief|-
Synoryth
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carbondale, PA, USA
Posts: 8
Offline

Tricon doesnt work for me. The menu items dont do anything.
 
4 - 07-15-2007, 12:12 AM quote
Krash
Neptune Sleeps
 
Krash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,362
Offline

To clarify what this method does, it runs the function "prepbuild();" already included with the game in console_start.cs and adds a quit timer to close the server. Prepbuild does a search for all .cs and .gui files and compiles them for use by the game.
Alternatively, you could run the prepbuild(); command in your server's console and restart it manually.

Running through the dedicated shortcut is usually the best route if you're troubleshooting or setting up your server, by the way. :p
 
5 - 07-15-2007, 04:13 AM quote
ShrimpFromHell
Me is teh Shrimpeh!
 
ShrimpFromHell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 241
Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by -|Master Chief|-
Tricon doesnt work for me. The menu items dont do anything.

Hmm.. you must allready have too many custom scripts plugged in. Oh well, if typing prebuild(); in the console has the same effect, that's even better then. Thanks for the hint Krash.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krash
Running through the dedicated shortcut is usually the best route if you're troubleshooting or setting up your server, by the way. :p

ORLY? :D


Well then, Master Chief, I guess you could try and run enter prebuild(); in your console if that realy does the same as Tricon's Prebuild/compile DSO's. Then that should probably fix your problem if just deleting the DSO's doesn't work.

Last edited by ShrimpFromHell : 07-15-2007 at 04:20 AM.
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Construction Mod for Unreal? Rimski The Construct 93 10-07-2010 08:50 AM
a cool idea. maybe? DeadWrong The Construct 69 06-19-2010 10:38 AM
A challenge I present to the community. Shane The Construct 56 07-29-2009 12:44 PM
Krash Fix your patch please! cyrogen421 General Discussion 4 01-07-2009 03:43 AM
Lite Construction Client Eolk Construction Creations 4 06-24-2008 08:01 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 PM.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.