question....

First off... wicked to see construction still going. I started playing around 5 years ago, and played con mod lots.

anyway, Ive forgotten how to get it working. I downloaded the mod (regular .68) but I cant get it working. Can someone give an instruction list or something? it would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• First off, you'll want at least v0.69a, the last 'official' version. v0.70 has a few addons from the community (such as sliding doors and a modifier tool) and a number of fixes.
    Running it is actually pretty simple:
    1. Install into Tribes2/GameData/
    2. Go into Tribes2/GameData/Construction/, run the DSO remover.
    3. Run one of the game shortcuts in the folder and start up a server. Running the dedicated shortcut would be good to get everything loaded the first time, after that you can just use the host tab in the client to start up a listen server if you want.

If you run into any problems just throw us a post.
  • Ok, so I was doing it right then... I got .70 and did everything you said, and same thing. I go into settings, and dont see any controls specific to con mod (sit, con tool etc.) :confused:
  • Usually does that when the old DSO files from base are still being loaded. If the remover isn't getting them you might just do a search for files named .dso and delete the ones it finds.
  • Yeah I just tired that aswell... doesnt make it work either. Im not sure what to do
  • Curious. When you run the shortcut, are a pile of DSOs compiled for the files in your construction/scripts/ directory? If not, you may want to make sure your paths are correct.

Try joining a construction server and open the console when it's done loading. If the client is running there should be a line at the top of it sent by the server looking similar to:
    "Construction Mod Server modversion - credits (2)"
  • yes there are DSOs in the scripts folder. I cant join any servers, always says none found, no matter what the filter is set for.